Quantcast

September 30, 2015

CHL Texas Eligibility

A CHL in Texas will require you to meet certain requirements. Eligibility will be based on your past and many factors.

* Here are some of the top eligibility requirements. There are many more, but here is just a sample.
* You must be a legal resident of this state for the six-month period preceding the date
of application under this subchapter or is otherwise eligible for a license.
* You need to be at least 21 years old.
* No felony on your record.
* Not charged with the commission of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor
or equivalent offense, or of an offense under Section 42.01, Penal Code, or
equivalent offense, or of a felony under an information or indictment.
* Cannot be cannot a fugitive from justice for a felony. Also cannot be a fugitive for a Class A or Class B
misdemeanor or equivalent offense.
* You cannot be chemically dependent.
* Must be able to use good judgement in storing guns.
* In five years preceding the date of application, you cannot have been convicted
of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or equivalent offense or of an offense.
* You must be qualified to purchase a handgun in the state.
* Do not be delinquent in child support payments or similar.
* No debts with the state comptroller, the tax collector of a political
subdivision of the state, or any agency or subdivision of the state.
* Cannot suffer from a psychiatric disorder or a similar condition described. this includes: is in remission but is reasonably likely to redevelop at a future time: requires continuous medical treatment to avoid redevelopment: has been diagnosed by a licensed physician, determined by a review
board or similar authority, or declared by a court to be incompetent to manage firearms.
* Cannot have entered in a criminal proceeding a plea of not guilty by reason of
insanity.

In Texas there are some items that constitute evidence that a person has a psychiatric disorder or
condition described by the Texas CHL laws. Be sure to read the application carefully.
These are just a few items that are taken into consideration during your application. Be honest and take great care in filling out your application.

You can read all eligibility requirements here.
http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/InternetForms/Forms/CHL-16.pdf

admin

Click Here to Leave a Comment Below

Kayla Sneider - January 3, 2016 Reply

Hi just a few quick questions. I just moved to Texas and was curious if there is any way for me to transfer over my CHL from Maine. I know Texas is very adamant about the age being 21. I’m 19 and want to know if I have to wait two years before I can have a CHL here. Would I have to retake the course? Can I take a course and would the certificate be valid for a couple years?

Sean Cody - January 7, 2016 Reply

There is no way to transfer.

Texas does not recognize the Maine CHL.

Applicants must be at least 21 years of age (unless active duty military)

Are you active duty military? If not I think that you might have to wait.

Sorry. I know that’s not the answer you wanted.

sC

Leave a Reply:

GZP